This isn’t what My N Did…Not Really

Toby Keith wrote a song about a narcissist in his life.  Here are some lyrics:

We talk about your work how your boss is a jerk

 We talk about your church and your head when it hurts

We talk about the troubles you’ve been having with your brother

About your daddy and your mother and your crazy ex-lover

We talk about your friends and the places that you’ve been

We talk about your skin and the dimples on your chin

The polish on your toes and the run in your hose

And God knows we’re gonna talk about your clothes

You know talking about you makes me smile

But every once in a while I wanna talk about me

What I think, what I like, what I know, what I want, what I see

I like talking about you you you you, usually, but occasionally

I wanna talk about me!

My N encouraged me to talk about myself.  He wanted to know everything he could.  At first, I thought he was being a wonderful listener and communicator.  Then I realized that as I’d talk and turn things toward him, he would have nothing to say about himself unless something I’d said related directly to him.  Then he’d make some sort of superficial comment.  Now I know he was running all my information, all my “sharing of emotions” through his filters and storing it in his munitions dump to be brought out and used against me when he felt I was being a bad mirror.  At the end, it was ALL brought out in an effort to make me feel inadequate, worthless and just as empty as he truly was.

Maybe female N people are different from male N people?  I don’t know.  Anyone with experiences?  I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

