“Hmmmm…..” She Says, While Looking at the Time

For a week, I’ve been talking to a lively and extremely articulate man.  Yep, another online date.  Seems I never give up.  He generally calls me –  my calls to him are return phone calls.

Last night, we were on the phone for three hours.  Earlier in the week, we’d set a date for today (Saturday) to have dinner at 6:00 pm at a restaurant he was going to choose.   Last night, he hadn’t chosen the restaurant.  Apparently, work got in the way.  Understandable, I think.  So this morning at 10:00 a.m. when I finally dragged my butt out of bed, I texted him to let him know I was up (I’d told him I’d call him this morning) and that I’d call after I’d had my coffee.  No reply.  Just before noon, I called him and left a message.  No return phone call.

It is now 2:07 pm.  In my message I’d requested that we meet around 7 or 7:30, not 6, because I was running behind on things.  I have not had a return phone call.

My guess is that this date is not going to happen.  I’ve heard nothing from him.  I’m not turning myself on a dime if he suddenly calls me at 3 or 4 or 5  and tells me he wants to have dinner someplace.

It’s possible he has a personal emergency.  It’s also possible he had a change of heart and is chicken to tell me. It’s just as possible that I have another N on my hands.

Whatever the possibility, I’m not going on this date tonight.  I have other things to do, and since I’ve heard nothing from him thus far today, and according to HIS plan of meeting at 6, I now have less than 4 hours to finish up what I need to do and get ready for said date, drive to it, and attempt to have a relaxing and fun time.

No.  I don’t turn on a dime just because someone can’t, for whatever reason, get with it enough to figure out where we’re going to meet, let me know where that place is in an appropriate amount of time (a day or two in advance), and then decides to call me at the last minute with the “plans.”

Not happening.  I’m free tonight.  Not doing anything but taking care of myself.

It’s rude to do this to someone, and unless a personal emergency has occurred, there is no excuse for it.  None.

Leave a Reply

